Reset User Customizations

It may become necessary or desirable to reset a screen's customizations back to their default settings. This may be because the screen settings have become corrupt or that a Custom Field has been created or renamed. Resetting the customizations for a screen will resolve the corruption issue and/or refresh how Custom Fields are displayed.

The steps to reset a user's screen back to default settings are:

  1. Exit Acclamare completely on the user's workstation.
  2. Locate the folder in which Acclamare is installed. This is typically on the C: drive in a folder named "Acclamare" or "Acclamare Client". Open that folder.
  3. Open the folder named "Customizations".
  4. Locate and open the subfolder which corresponds to the screen you wish to reset. In this example we are going to open the folder named "ItemView" which would be the view of Item File Maintenance. Most folders will display only 3 files as shown below. (There are a few folders that may contain 5 - 6 files if the screen has multiple "sections" such as Customer File Maintenance.)
    2017-01-07_151700.jpg
  5. If you desire to reset everything about this screen, then delete ALL files in this folder. Doing so will reset the menu bar, menu shortcuts, grid fields, and screen size/position. In many instances, you are only needing to reset the fields. This can be accomplished by deleting only the files prefixed with "vg" (ie vertical grid). In the example above, you would only delete "vgItemVGrid".

Upon logging into Acclamare, you will find Item File Maintenance will be reset to default fields/field order, screen size/position, and any new or renamed Custom Fields will appear.

Note: Every screen in Acclamare has an associated subfolder in the Customizations folder. In the event you are not sure if you are resetting the proper folder or file, you can rename the folder or file such as "vgItemVGrid_old". If you find upon logging back into Acclamare that the target screen did not get refreshed as expected, you can repeat steps 1-4 and then restore the name of the file you renamed.

 I found this article helpful. (0)